CT State Labor Laws
CT State Labor Laws
EMPLOYMENT CLASSIFICATION FOR TAX PURPOSES
Host families are considered household employers, and homepairs their household employers (not independent contractors). Read our guide on Nanny Taxes to understand what this means in terms of your tax requirements.
STATE LABOR LAW REQUIREMENTS
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) provides the framework for federal and state wage and hour laws (which household employees such as homepairs are protected by). Connecticut can supplement the federal law with additional state and municipal labor law.
Household employers are required to pay their employees on a weekly basis
The current minimum wage for Connecticut is currently $10.10 per hour
Household employees are protected by overtime laws set by the FLSA and some additional laws set by Connecticut. Although the law states that employees be paid at least 1.5 times (time and a half) for all hours worked over 40 in a work week, Connecticut has exempted live-in employees from this mandate. Please discuss and agree if overtime will be paid when you come to building your agreement.
On call / Sleep time
Household employers do not need to count normal sleeping hours as hours worked for live-in employees, even if they are required to be ‘on-call’ during that time. The FLSA gives additional guidance on this topic:
- If live-in employees receive at least 8 hours of uninterrupted sleep during ‘on call’ time, those hours are exempt as hours worked (the ‘8 hour sleep exemption’)
- Anytime a live-in employee’s sleep is interrupted whilst on-call, that time is classified as hours worked and must be paid as normal
- If a live-in employee receives less than 5 hours of uninterrupted sleep, all 8 hours must be classified as hours worked and be paid
- Minimum Wage and Overtime rules apply as normal
- Employers should include this ‘8 hour sleep exemption’ rule in their written agreement with the employee
Household employers are required to have an employment agreement / contract at the time of hire. This agreement must include the following details:
- The hourly rate
- The regular hours of employment.
- When pay will occur (should be weekly).
- Details regarding sick leave and vacation benefits that the employer will provide
Household employers must provide their employee with a Termination Notice at the time of separation by completing Form UC-61 and handing it to their employee on their final day of work (or if not possible, have it mailed to their address).
Workers Compensation Insurance
Household employers must have a Workers Compensation Insurance policy (WCI) if they will work more than 26 hours per week. This assists with medical expenses and lost wages if an employee has a work-related injury or illness. It also provides protection to the employer since workers who accept benefits generally forfeit their right to sue the employer regardless of fault.
You can shop around for household employer WCI at any CT state-licensed insurance broker.
The information is not intended to be providing legal or tax advice, and should not be relied upon without the advice and guidance of your professional tax or legal advisor.
Information last updated 3/24/2019